Subscribe to Grants & awards

Grants & awards

Michael Newman earns the 2013 McGurgan Service Award

Diane McGurgan

On November 2, 2013, Michael Newman received the Diane McGurgan Service award in recognition of his efforts to contribute to the annual ScienceWriters meeting.

Student science writers: Apply now for an NASW Travel Fellowship to Chicago

The National Association of Science Writers (NASW) is once again sponsoring travel fellowships for undergraduate students interested in science journalism, to attend the upcoming American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) meeting in Chicago. As many as 10 students will receive $500 to $1,000 in travel expense reimbursement for attending AAAS, which will be held Feb. 13-17, 2014.

Scholarships to the Kavli Prize awards

Thanks to the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, up to five science journalists will have the opportunity to attend the Kavli Prize in Olso, Norway, Sept. 8-11, 2014. Meet and exchange with the winners of the Kavli Prize awarded in astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience. The scholarships cover the costs of transportation from your own country and your stay in Oslo.

ScienceWriters2013 fellows selected

Congratulations to the twenty NASW travel fellows selected for a grant to attend ScienceWriters2013 Nov. 1-5 in Gainesville, Florida. Check the full post for a list of recipients. Thank you to all who applied. We had a record setting number of applications.

Idea Grant applications due Nov. 15


Do you have a great idea for a science writing resource? Are you a member of a local science-writing group with big plans for an important project workshop that has insufficient funding? A new round of Idea Grants is open for funding. Proposals due November 15, 2013.

An update on the Idea Grants program

Since its inception in 2010, more than $265,000 has been awarded in NASW's Idea Grants program. The Idea Grants program has been refunded for the coming year, and a new request for proposals will be published this summer. In the meantime, here are the winners of the inaugural ScienceSeeker Awards, funded by an Idea Grant. You can also read this list all of the Idea Grants awarded to date.

Van Dam travel fellowship update

The National Association of Science Writers invites applications for the Laura Van Dam Travel Fellowships to this summer's meeting of the World Conference of Science Journalists in Helsinki, Finland, June 24-28, 2013. Update: We will be notifying applicants by March 12.

McGurgan Service Award winners


Last month in Raleigh, N.C., during the NASW business meeting, three dedicated volunteers were awarded the 2012 Diane McGurgan Service Award. Congratulations to Rick Bogren, Robert Irion, and Mari Jensen. Read on to learn more about their contributions and the award.

Student Travel Fellowships to AAAS

The National Association of Science Writers once again will sponsor travel fellowships to the upcoming AAAS meeting for undergraduate students interested in science journalism. As many as 10 students will receive $500 to $1,000 in travel expenses to attend AAAS in Boston, Feb. 14-18, 2013. NASW's education committee will select students to receive the fellowship and will pair each one with a veteran writer for mentoring at the conference.

Idea Grants: Applications due Nov. 1

© steidl

Do you have a great idea for a science writing resource? NASW invites proposals from individuals or groups to apply for grants ranging from $1,000 to $50,000 for projects and programs that are designed to help science writers in their professional lives and/or to benefit the field of science writing.