Desk Notes Newsletter, October 16, 2019



Desk Notes
News from the National Association of Science Writers
October 16, 2019 – Vol. 1, No. 10

The ScienceWriters2019 meeting is fast approaching! Get tips on traveling to State College, getting around town, and finding things to see and do. Can’t be there in person? Follow @ScienceWriters and @ScienceWriting on Twitter and join the conversation using the hashtag #SciWri19

Got an idea? Apply for a Peggy Girshman Idea Grant

NASW is accepting applications for 2019-2020 Peggy Girshman Idea Grants, which support projects and programs that help science writers in their professional lives and/or benefit the field. NASW has funded projects totaling more than $475,000 since 2010.


Join the Grants Committee! Every year, the Grants Committee awards thousands of dollars in Peggy Girshman Idea Grants. It’s thrilling work that involves hearing ambitious ideas, debating the merits of proposals, and ultimately coming together to support efforts that will shape the field. The committee is seeking a new volunteer. Learn more about getting involved.

Excellence in Institutional Writing Award winners announced

Congratulations to Laura Castañón and Kelly April Tyrrell on receiving our 2019 Excellence in Institutional Writing Awards, recognizing high-caliber publicly accessible science writing produced for non-media organizations. These storytellers made two complex topics–the origins of the universe and quantum information theory–accessible and engaging.


Science in Society Journalism Award winners announced

Congratulations to the winners of our 2019 Science in Society Journalism Awards, which recognize investigative or interpretive reporting about the sciences and their impact on society. The winning entries were penned by Arielle Duhaime-Ross, Michelle Donahue, Ian James, Zoë Meyers, Jen Schwartz, and Carl Zimmer.


Members, you're invited to vote in a special election to fill an open seat on the NASW board and have your say on two proposed bylaw amendments. Vote in person at the NASW annual business meeting or by proxy. Meet the candidates, review the proposals, and learn more about voting.


The Open Notebook announces book

Showcasing articles by some of the most skillful science journalists working today, ‘The Craft of Science Writing’ will be released in February, 2020. The compilation comes from The Open Notebook, whose growth over the past decade has been supported by two Peggy Girshman Idea Grants.


Meet a new NASW member

Sushma Subramanian, a journalism professor at the University of Mary Washington in Fredericksburg, Virginia, and a freelance science writer, shares #WhySciWri in this short Q&A.

Inequality in corresponding authors means reporters need to balance the scales, says AHCJ's Tara Haelle.
Empower your journalism organization to demonstrate credibility and earn trust with these free webinars from Poynter.

Apoorva Mandavilli wins Victor Cohn Prize

Apoorva Mandavilli, a science journalist known for both narrative writing and breaking news coverage, is the recipient of the 2019 Victor Cohn Prize for Excellence in Medical Science Reporting. The prize is awarded annually by the Council for the Advancement of Science Writing (CASW).


#WCSJ19 videos and photos available

Didn’t make it to the 2019 World Conference of Science Journalists in Lausanne? Attended and want to revisit a session? Videos and photos from the conference are now available.

What does it take to create a compelling headline? Get nine tips on crafting the perfect header from
Good science communication about Nobel Prize winners benefits the public and scientists, according to this piece in The Conversation.


Twitter @ScienceWriters

Facebook @SciWri


Google Plus

Want to change how you receive these emails? 
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Digital and Print Editor: Sarah Nightingale
Proofreader: Kelly Quigley
email:   |  online:
NASW, P.O. Box 7905, Berkeley, CA 94707 

© 2019 National Association of Science Writers Inc. All rights reserved.

Oct. 16, 2019

Rights Platform Marketplace advertisement

AIP Science Communications Awards

Drexel University Online