2013 Laura Van Dam fellows selected

Congratulations to the four recipients of the Laura Van Dam Travel Fellowships to this summer's meeting of the World Conference of Science Journalists in Helsinki, Finland, June 24-28, 2013.

2013 Laura Van Dam Travel Fellows

Estrella Burgos
Dan Keller
Phil McKenna
Eric Niiler

The fellowships are awarded in memory of past NASW President Laura Van Dam, who died in 2006. Laura was a strong supporter of NASW's commitment to international science writing and, in fact, helped organize the first meeting of the World Federation of Science Journalists in Montreal in 2004. Our goal is not only to encourage ties between NASW and the World Federation as a way of helping the development of our craft around the world, but also to give the selected Van Dam fellows a chance to pursue story opportunities in Finland and the region, especially at a time when travel budgets are tight for many writers.

General information, registration, and a preliminary program for the WCSJ2013 can be found at www.wcsj2013.org.

Apr. 30, 2013

Drexel University Online

Leon Levy Center for Biography fellowship