Congratulations to the 2018 NASW Travel Fellows to AAAS

Congratulations to the 2018 NASW Travel Fellows to the Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) annual meeting, Feb.15-19 in Austin, Texas. These 11 undergraduate students from around the U.S. were selected by the NASW Education Committee from a competitive pool of applicants. Travel fellows will each write a story for publication on the ScienceWriters website and participate in the NASW Mentoring Program and NASW Internship Fair.

Special thanks to Education Committee co-chairs Czerne Reid and Ashley Yeager for coordinating the Travel Fellowship and Mentoring Program, and to committee member Erik Vance for coordinating the Internship Fair. Thanks also to the many NASW members who volunteer as editors, mentors, speakers and assistants. Without the generous gift of your time, expertise and goodwill, these signature programs, which are a highlight for students each year, would be impossible.

2018 NASW Travel Fellows

  • Paige Bartlett, University of Washington
  • Sophie Bates, University of California, Davis
  • Katie Brown, California State University, Monterey Bay
  • Abigail Eisenstadt, Johns Hopkins University
  • Eva Frederick, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Jordan Gaal, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Carolina Meraz, Purdue University
  • Grace Niewijk, Yale University
  • Sarah Olson, MiraCosta College
  • Andrew Urevig, University of Minnesota Twin Cities
  • Gina Vitale, Drexel University