Congratulations to this year's AAAS Undergraduate Travel Fellows

A group photo of the fellows.

Front row (L to R): Elizabeth Ladyzhets, Ana Flores, Shelby Condit, Shelby Whitehead. Back row (L to R): Taylor White, Jodie Lunger, Mary-Elizabeth Jobson, Marisa Sloan, Adam Peasley, Courtney Adams.

Congratulations to the 2019 NASW Travel Fellows to the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) annual meeting, Feb. 14-17 in Washington, D.C. These 10 undergraduate students from around the U.S. were selected by the NASW Education Committee from a competitive pool of applicants. Travel fellows will each write a story for publication on the ScienceWriters website and participate in the NASW Mentoring Program and Internship Fair.

The travel fellows are:

  • Courtney Adams, Texas A&M University
  • Shelby Condit, Colorado State University
  • Ana Flores, St. Edward's University
  • Mary-Elizabeth Jobson, University of Florida
  • Elizabeth Ladyzhets, Barnard College
  • Jodie Lunger, University of Toronto
  • Adam Peasley, Austin Community College
  • Marisa Sloan, University of North Carolina -Greensboro
  • Taylor White, Suffolk University
  • Shelby Whitehead, University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Special thanks to the Education Committee members and to the many other NASW members who volunteer as editors, mentors, speakers, and assistants. Without the generous gift of your time, expertise and goodwill, these signature programs, which are a highlight for students each year, would be impossible.

Education Committee members:

  • Czerne Reid (Co-chair and Travel Fellowship co-coordinator)
  • Ashley Yeager (Co-chair and Travel Fellowship co-coordinator)
  • Erik Vance (Internship fair coordinator)
  • Rachel Butch
  • Jenny Cutraro
  • Amber Dance
  • Jeff Grabmeier
  • Laurel Hamers
  • Robert Irion
  • Sarah Webb

For more information on NASW's Education activities during AAAS, visit this link. All NASW student members are invited to participate in the mentoring program and internship fair. Applications for the mentoring program are due January 21, and students interested in participating in any of these activities must apply for NASW membership by February 1. NASW members who would like volunteer as mentors may sign up at this link.

January 14, 2019

BWF Climate Change and Human Health Seed Grants

Eric and Wendy Schmidt Awards for Excellence in Science Communications

Advertise with NASW