Graphic with circular logo of the N A S W Science in Society Journalism Awards, which somewhat resembles a rosette or a plasmid diagram. The logo is set against a radiating gradient pattern, evoking the sense of knowledge diving deep into the unknown.

Entries for NASW Science in Society Journalism Awards open now

Entries for the 2024 NASW Science in Society Journalism Awards are currently open. To read complete entry rules and to access our updated online entry system, visit

Deadline to enter is Feb. 1, 2024. Works nominated must be written or produced in English, intended for the non-specialist, and first published or broadcast between Jan. 1, 2023, and Dec. 31, 2023. All NASW awards strive to showcase timely coverage and exemplary work, particularly those by underrepresented creatives tackling diverse, overlooked issues and communities. Judges especially consider diversity in topics, sources, audience, and authors to be a critical component of excellence.

Nominations are not limited to NASW members — all media professionals are encouraged to submit entries on behalf of themselves, peers, colleagues, or mentees. Entries fees are waived for NASW members; additionally, we invite members of the following organizations to enter either contests free of charge:

About the NASW Science in Society Journalism Awards: First awarded in 1972, the NASW Science and Society (SIS) Journalism Awards were established to recognize investigative or interpretive reporting about the sciences and their impact on society. Intended to encourage critical, probing work that would not receive an award from an interest group. The annual SIS honors have highlighted innovative reporting shaped by a diverse variety of perspectives — going well beyond the research findings and considering the associated ethical problems and social effects. SIS categories include Books, Science Reporting, Science Features, Longform Narratives, Series, and Commentary. The winner or winning team for each category receives a $2,000 prize.

Explore the previous year's SIS winners and finalists at and explore more SIS awards history at

The annual NASW Science in Society Journalism Awards and NASW Excellence in Institutional Writing Awards competitions are managed by the NASW Awards Committee, a group of accomplished professionals who volunteer their time on behalf of the field. This year, the committee is chaired by Jill Sakai and Aparna Vidyasagar, and NASW thanks them and the entire Awards Committee volunteer team and judges for their service. For awards program questions, please email co-chairs Aparna Vidyasagar and Jill Sakai at

Help us cast a wide net for excellence and spread the word! Tag #SciWriAwards when sharing on Twitter, LinkedIn, and other social networks. And share our announcement promoting both SIS and EIWA entries.

Founded in 1934 with a mission to fight for the free flow of science news, NASW is an organization of ~ 2,800 professional journalists, authors, editors, producers, public information officers, students and people who write and produce material intended to inform the public about science, health, engineering, and technology. To learn more, visit and follow NASW on LinkedIn.

December 1, 2023