McGurgan Service Award winners

November 08, 2012

Congratulations to the 2012 Diane McGurgan Service Award winners:

  • Rick Bogren
  • Robert Irion
  • Mari Jensen

NASW is lucky to have over 200 active volunteers. Each year, this award honors a member whose efforts on behalf of NASW go beyond the call of duty. This year, the award honors three members who have put in countless hours over the last few years to help the organization.

Robert Irion has co-chaired the Education Committee for five years. This committee is in charge of running the student internship fair, NASW's popular mentoring program at the annual AAAS meeting, and the undergraduate travel fellowships. Together Rob and co-chair Jeff Grabmeier, who was honored with this award in 2009, have mobilized a small army of volunteers and make sure that every detail of the program is taken care of. The committee has added new elements to an already successful slate of activities and continues to refine current programs. Through Rob's work leading the committee and his deep interest in students, he is ensuring that new generations of science writers have the resources and encouragement they need to succeed.

In 2009, Rick Bogren and Mari Jensen each independently responded to a call for members of the fledgling Finance Committee. Over the last three years, they have taken the committee from its infancy to a smoothly functioning group that, in addition to monthly and annual tasks of financial oversight, has achieved a number of important benchmarks for the organization, including implementation of a refined, on-time budgeting process, policies and procedures for handling the fluctuations in Authors Coalition income, and engagement of an audit firm that specializes in non-profits. Rick and Mari's diligence and attention to detail is unflagging, and their willingness to dig into work that is crucial, though not often recognized, is deeply appreciated.

Established in 2001, the Diane McGurgan Service Award was originally endowed by NASW member Louis Lerner and is now funded out of the annual budget. Awardees this year received a custom certificate and $250. To view previous winners, please visit