All articles

Primary tabs

Michelle Trudeau, a correspondent for National Public Radio who has covered mental health, human behavior and brain science for more than two decades, has been awarded the 2004 Victor Cohn Prize for Excellence in Medical Science Reporting. The prize, for a body of work published or broadcast within the last five years, was created by the Council for the Advancement of Science Writing, an organization of distinguished journalists and scientists committed to improving the quality of science

At the NASW Annual Meeting in February of 2004, two experts offered their experiences and insights in a workshop devoted to freelance contract negotiation. According to Erik Sherman, "The best first thing to do is say, 'I'd like to see your first North American Serial Rights Contract, please," while Kraig Baker suggests, "If you want to be successful, your first tactic should be whatever tactic keeps the publisher's lawyer out of it." Special Thanks to Alan Kelly, Owner, Verbatim Instant Transcripts, for generating this complimentary transcript for NASW

The National Association of Science Writers, Society of Environmental Journalists and Association of Health Care Journalists have sent a letter to U.S. government officials protesting visa requirements for foreign journalists. The letter was sent to U.S. Customs and Border Protection Commissioner Robert C. Bonner, Secretary of State Colin Powell, Homeland Security chief Tom Ridge and key members of Congress.