Graphic with circular logo of the N A S W Excellence in Institutional Writing Awards, which somewhat resembles a rosette or a plasmid diagram. The logo is set against a radiating gradient pattern, evoking the sense of knowledge diving deep into the unknown.

Entries for NASW Excellence in Institutional Writing Awards open now

Entries for the 2024 NASW Excellence in Institutional Writing Awards are currently open. To read complete entry rules and to access our updated online entry system, visit

Deadline to enter is Feb. 1, 2024. Works nominated must be written or produced in English, intended for the non-specialist, and first published or broadcast between Jan. 1, 2023, and Dec. 31, 2023. All NASW awards strive to showcase timely coverage and exemplary work, particularly those by underrepresented creatives tackling diverse, overlooked issues and communities. Judges especially consider diversity in topics, sources, audience, and authors to be a critical component of excellence.

Nominations are not limited to NASW members — all media professionals are encouraged to submit entries on behalf of themselves, peers, colleagues, or mentees. Entries fees are waived for NASW members; additionally, we invite members of the following organizations to enter either contests free of charge:

About the NASW Excellence in Institutional Writing Awards: First awarded in 2018, the NASW Excellence in Institutional Writing Awards (EIWA) were established to recognize high-caliber publicly accessible science writing produced on behalf of an institution or other non-media organization — including campuses, government agencies, nonprofits, and others. EIWA offers a Short-Form and Long-Form category for entries; the winner or winning team for each category receives a $2,000 prize.

Explore the previous year's EIWA winners and finalists at and explore more EIWA awards history at

The annual NASW Excellence in Institutional Writing Awards and NASW Science in Society Journalism Awards competitions are managed by the NASW Awards Committee, a group of accomplished professionals who volunteer their time on behalf of the field. This year, the committee is chaired by Jill Sakai and Aparna Vidyasagar, and NASW thanks them and the entire Awards Committee volunteer team and judges for their service. For awards program questions, please email co-chairs Aparna Vidyasagar and Jill Sakai at

Help us cast a wide net for excellence and spread the word! Tag #SciWriAwards when sharing on Twitter, LinkedIn, and other social networks. And share our announcement promoting both EIWA and SIS entries.

Founded in 1934 with a mission to fight for the free flow of science news, NASW is an organization of ~ 2,800 professional journalists, authors, editors, producers, public information officers, students and people who write and produce material intended to inform the public about science, health, engineering, and technology. To learn more, visit and follow NASW on LinkedIn.

December 1, 2023