Subscribe to NASW news

NASW news

Announcing the 2017 World Conference of Science Journalists

WCSJ2017 logo

CAMBRIDGE, MA (October 10, 2015) — The 10th World Conference of Science Journalists, expected to bring more than 1,200 journalists from around the world to San Francisco, has been scheduled for October 26–30, 2017, two U.S. lead organizations announced today.

NASW student programs at AAAS 2016

The National Association of Science Writers will again sponsor several exciting programs for student journalists during the American Association for the Advancement of Science meeting. All activities require students to be members of NASW by Feb. 1. Online registration for the AAAS Newsroom will open tomorrow at and continue until Jan. 22.

Idea Grant applications due Nov. 4

Check writing image via Shutterstock

In the last five years, the National Association of Science Writers has funded 127 projects worth over $400,000 as part of the Idea Grants program. A new round of Idea Grants is now open. Applications are due Wednesday, November 4. Read more for details.

2015 Science in Society Awards winners announced

Science in Society Awards logo

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2015 Science in Society Journalism Awards, sponsored by the National Association of Science Writers.

Madhumita Venkataramanan wins Evert Clark/Seth Payne Award

Madhumita Venkataramanan photo

The winner of the 2015 Evert Clark/Seth Payne Award, an annual prize for young science journalists, is Madhumita Venkataramanan, now head of technology coverage for the Telegraph in London. Venkataramanan received the award and its $1,000 prize for two stories in Wired (“My Identity for Sale” and “Welcome to BrainGate”) and one story for the BBC (“The Superpower Police Now Use to Tackle Crime.”)

Johnson awarded Victor Cohn Prize

Mark Johnson photo

Milwaukee Journal Sentinel science and medical reporter Mark Johnson, a career newspaper journalist whose work is marked by its scientific breadth, human impact and storytelling verve, is the recipient of the 2015 Victor Cohn Prize for Excellence in Medical Science Reporting.

ScienceWriters2015 registration is open

MIT dome on Killian Court

Cambridge, here we come! We’re excited to announce that registration for ScienceWriters2015 is now open at Your friends and colleagues at NASW, the Council for the Advancement of Science Writing, and the hosts at Knight Science Journalism at MIT have put together five jam-packed days of workshops, science sessions, tours, field trips, social events, and more.


ScienceWriters, Summer 2015

A preview of ScienceWriters2015 in Cambridge, Mass., and reviews of WCSJ2015 in Seoul, with the threat of MERS looming and a Nobel laureate making news with his remarks about women; Faye Flam critiques John Bohannon's chocolate diet sting; why every writer should have a letter of final instruction and what needs to be in it; how the Jeopardy television game show makes sure it's getting the science right; and what software is best for organizing a book. Full text visible to NASW members only.

Apply by August 25: ScienceWriters2015 travel fellowships

ScienceWriters2015 logo

Several types of travel fellowships are available to ScienceWriters2015. In addition, NASW's travel fellowships have been consolidated and are open to any science writer, editor, publication information officer, or journalism instructor with financial need. Applications due August 25.

And the winner is...

It's official! The World Conference of Science Journalists is coming to San Francisco in the fall of 2017. Congratulations and a huge thank you to all the volunteers from the National Association of Science Writers, the Council for the Advancement of Science Writing, our hosts at UCSF and UC Berkeley and everyone else who worked so hard on this bid.