Subscribe to NASW news

NASW news


ScienceWriters, Fall 2015

Recapping ScienceWriters2015 in Cambridge, Mass.; the winners of NASW's and CASW's annual awards; when to record your freelance income for tax purposes; plus the usual departments, book reviews, and news about NASW members. Full text visible to NASW members only.

Robin Lloyd receives McGurgan Award

Robin Lloyd is this year’s recipient of the Diane McGurgan Service Award. She received a framed certificate and a $500 cash prize for the honor. The announcement was made by NASW President Robin Marantz Henig during this year’s NASW business meeting in Cambridge.

New committee formed to look into the matter of officer credentials

NASW logo

In response to concerns raised by the PIO committee at the October 9, 2015, Board meeting, followed by a petition presented at the October 10, 2015, annual membership meeting to amend the constitution to change qualifications for the four NASW officer positions, the Board has set up an ad hoc committee to take on a detailed exploration of this weighty issue, come to consensus on recommendations, and write up a report.

Announcing the 2017 World Conference of Science Journalists

WCSJ2017 logo

CAMBRIDGE, MA (October 10, 2015) — The 10th World Conference of Science Journalists, expected to bring more than 1,200 journalists from around the world to San Francisco, has been scheduled for October 26–30, 2017, two U.S. lead organizations announced today.

NASW student programs at AAAS 2016

The National Association of Science Writers will again sponsor several exciting programs for student journalists during the American Association for the Advancement of Science meeting. All activities require students to be members of NASW by Feb. 1. Online registration for the AAAS Newsroom will open tomorrow at and continue until Jan. 22.

Idea Grant applications due Nov. 4

Check writing image via Shutterstock

In the last five years, the National Association of Science Writers has funded 127 projects worth over $400,000 as part of the Idea Grants program. A new round of Idea Grants is now open. Applications are due Wednesday, November 4. Read more for details.

2015 Science in Society Awards winners announced

Science in Society Awards logo

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2015 Science in Society Journalism Awards, sponsored by the National Association of Science Writers.

Madhumita Venkataramanan wins Evert Clark/Seth Payne Award

Madhumita Venkataramanan photo

The winner of the 2015 Evert Clark/Seth Payne Award, an annual prize for young science journalists, is Madhumita Venkataramanan, now head of technology coverage for the Telegraph in London. Venkataramanan received the award and its $1,000 prize for two stories in Wired (“My Identity for Sale” and “Welcome to BrainGate”) and one story for the BBC (“The Superpower Police Now Use to Tackle Crime.”)

Johnson awarded Victor Cohn Prize

Mark Johnson photo

Milwaukee Journal Sentinel science and medical reporter Mark Johnson, a career newspaper journalist whose work is marked by its scientific breadth, human impact and storytelling verve, is the recipient of the 2015 Victor Cohn Prize for Excellence in Medical Science Reporting.