Subscribe to NASW news

NASW news

Peggy Girshman Idea Grant winners

NASW logo

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2017-2018 Peggy Girshman Idea Grant program sponsored by the National Association of Science Writers. The Grants Committee received 20 applications in this round and awarded a total of $25,000 to four recipients.

Congratulations to the 2018 NASW Travel Fellows to AAAS

Congratulations to the 2018 NASW Travel Fellows to the Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) annual meeting, Feb.15-19 in Austin, Texas. These 11 undergraduate students from around the U.S. were selected by the NASW Education Committee from a competitive pool of applicants. Travel fellows will each write a story for publication on the ScienceWriters website and participate in the NASW Mentoring Program and NASW Internship Fair.

Help NASW thrive

NASW logo

The NASW Membership Committee is currently seeking several new members to help expand membership and improve benefits for existing members.

Announcing the new NASW Excellence in Institutional Writing Award

ScienceWriters logo

We're pleased to announce the brand new NASW Excellence in Institutional Writing Award. The award will honor quality, clarity, and effectiveness in institutional science writing produced by staff or freelance writers and carries a cash prize of $2,000.

New benefit for NASW members


As a benefit of NASW's membership in the World Federation of Science Journalists, NASW members may now access the 6 million+ articles in the Wiley Online Library. Visit the journal resource page or read more for access credentials.

NASW Board responds to nonpayment issue

The NASW board sent a letter to a publisher today, Dec. 13. 2017 to weigh in on an example of nonpayment affecting many of our members. Logged-in members may us the "read more" link to view the letter. The NASW Freelance Committee is currently working to find solutions to this problem frequently faced by our freelance members. If you'd like to help in that effort, please email

Student journalists produce 52 reports from WCSJ2017

WCSJ logo

Student science writers from around the world have created a set of 52 stories from the World Conference of Science Journalists 2017, spanning most of the meeting's sessions and creating a valuable reference archive for journalists in the U.S. and abroad.

Entries for this year’s Science in Society Journalism Awards are open

Entries for the 2018 Science in Society Journalism Awards are open, and this year's contest features a new category. With cash prizes, no entry fees for members, and submissions open to members and non-members alike, we hope that you enter your best work from this year and encourage your colleagues to enter, too. Entries close Feb. 1, 2018.

Diane McGurgan Service Award winner

Jennifer Cox

Congratulations to the winner of the 2017 Diane McGurgan Service Award, NASW volunteer Jennifer Cox. The winner was announced by president Laura Helmuth on October 28 at the NASW membership meeting, held during the World Conference of Science Journalists 2017.

SciCommSouth conference in Austin

SciCommSouth logo

Are you living or working in Texas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Arkansas or Louisiana? Thanks to an NASW Idea Grant awarded to some of your creative colleagues in Austin, Texas, the first SciCommSouth meetup for writers and communicators in the South Central region will take place in Austin on Jan. 13. Register by Nov. 15 for the early bird rate.