NASW news

Get to know Sandeep Ravindran

Sandeep Ravindran was elected as an NASW board member-at-large in 2018. He assumed the role of secretary in June 2019, following the resignation of Nsikan Akpan in May. Learn more about Sandeep in this Q&A.

Journalism Committee seeks volunteers

The newly forming NASW Journalism Committee seeks several volunteers to identify and act on ways of broadening and deepening NASW's service to the cause of journalism, in keeping with NASW’s mission, and to help to develop new resources for science journalists

Putting short science stories on show

In 2016, Diana Crow, started ‘The Best Shortform Science Writing Project (SciShortform), a roundup of excellent short science writing pieces in a variety of genres. Curated by an all-volunteer team of writers and scientists, the list is published quarterly on Medium. This year, SciShortform got a boost from a $2,200 Peggy Girshman Idea Grant from NASW.

Nominations open for mid-term election

Are you interested in contributing your time and talents to support an organization that promotes the professional interests of science writers nationally and globally, plays an active role in supporting efforts to ensure writers are paid for their work, and advocates for copyright protections for writers? Consider running for the National Association of Science Writers Board of Directors.

Diversity Fellowship recipients announced

The National Association of Science Writers’ Diversity Committee is pleased to announce Rodrigo Pérez Ortega, Helen Santoro, and Anuradha Varanasi as recipients of our 2019 Diversity Fellowships. As fellows, Ortega, Santoro and Varanasi will each receive $5,000 to help defray relocation and living costs associated with completing a summer internship. Each will also receive a one-year membership to NASW.

The NASW Board of Directors has received resignation letters from the Co-Chairs of the NASW Governance Committee, Nsikan Akpan and Mollie Bloudoff-Indelicato. Additionally, Nsikan Akpan resigns as NASW Secretary and from the NASW Board. We thank both Nsikan and Mollie for their dedication as Governance Committee chairs and their tenures of leadership in our community, and to Nsikan for his service on the NASW Board since 2016.